Guest Post: Greek Pasta Salad

by CSWSmovie

photo by Andrew Kraszewski

Since work is currently consuming my life, my older sister Sonali generously offered to write about her favorite summer salad. So before I  hit my weekend of blogging, grilling and watching the Mad Men premiere with an old-fashioned in hand, here’s my lovely sister’s suggestion for a quick week-night dinner.

I am very fortunate to have not just one, but two younger sisters.  Though we aren’t identical, the three of us are unmistakably related: we can all quote My Best Friend’s Wedding without batting an eyelash, converse somewhat fluently in German, and share the belief that one’s Christmas tree should be up and decorated the day after Thanksgiving. However, the similarities do end there. Where Kishori is creative, interested in fashion and has the patience and curiosity to experiment with her cooking, I am far more analytical and happiest wearing my favorite pair of jeans and converse sneakers while making breakfast-for-dinner. So, when I found a recipe that was simple to make, healthy, and required little stove-top time during this unrelenting New York heat wave, it quickly became a staple in my home: a simple pasta salad with fresh vegetables tossed with a tangy homemade dressing. This recipe came from my fiancé’s family, who enjoys food as much as my sisters and I do. I hope you enjoy making (and eating) this as well! – Sonali Rajan

Greek Pasta Salad

For the salad
1 pound farfalle (bowtie) pasta (feel free to use another small pasta of your
choice)
1 pint grape tomatoes
1 2.25 oz. can of sliced black olives
2 handfuls of baby spinach, stems removed
1 cup feta cheese, crumbled

For the dressing
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2-3 garlic cloves, diced finely
1 teaspoon dried oregano

Cook the pasta according to the box’s directions. When the pasta is al dente, drain, rinse with cold water to stop the cooking, and add to a large serving bowl.
Meanwhile, halve the grape tomatoes and add to the cooked pasta, along with the spinach leaves. Drain the black olives and add to the mixture. Add in the
feta cheese.

In a separate small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, red wine vinegar, chopped garlic, and oregano. Add the dressing to the pasta, vegetable, and feta cheese
mixture and toss until well-coated. Serve cold.

